Illinois vacation back during July 10th-15th

Back in July, I flew out to Chicago to meet my bestie Haley for the first time ever. She paid for my flight there and back, along with concert tickets for the Jonas Brothers (the day I got in) and then One Direction (the night before I went home). I had a really amazing time while I was out there, even though I got homesick and cried ’cause of my anxiety (if you know me, you know I don’t like crying and don’t cry often). I hope to go back someday and explore the city more. I wasn’t able to see all the things I wanted to, ’cause I didn’t have enough time.

Image

Haley and I meeting at the airport

The Jonas Brothers were incredible live. I’ve seen them once before back in 2008, but they’re so much better now. We had VIP Soundcheck tickets. Not even going to lie, I kind of felt like I was 15 all over again haha. Fireworks went off over on the Navy Pier, which we could see from our seats, during the song “Fly With Me”. Big Rob also came on through Skype during “Burnin’ Up”.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

some girls passed these signs out before the concert started for us to hold up during the song “First Time”. the JoBros acknowledged the signs on twitter after the show.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Then on July 11th, we road the train from the town Haley lives in into Chicago to go to the Taste of Chicago. I had a mini pulled chicken sandwich, a shot glass sized thing of sweet tea, and a mini lemon Italian ice. Sadly, I didn’t take any pictures of my food or the Taste of Chicago (besides the tickets). After we were done at the Taste of Chicago, we walked over to the Ohio Street Beach. While Haley and two of her friends went swimming and tanned, I just sat in the shade and listened to music while staring at the gorgeous view of the skyline I had. After we were done at the beach, we headed off to the Navy Pier. We went through the shops first and I bought some postcards, along with pressing a penny with a picture of the Navy Pier on it. Then we bought our tickets to go on the Ferris wheel. Okay, so I’m scared of heights but I really wanted to go on it ’cause it’s in the Divergent trilogy, by Veronica Roth. So, I set those fears aside and got on it anyways. And after we were done with that, we took a trolley over to Michigan Avenue and went shopping at Forever 21 and the Disney Store. I didn’t buy anything, ’cause I was running low on money and needed to save it for the One Direction concert that coming Sunday. Then we were going to eat at TGI Friday’s, but I felt sick so we left as soon as we ordered the food and walked back to the train station to go back to her house.

ImageImage

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Stacy, Kelly, Me, and Haley.
wasn’t about to pay $35 for a version of this photo without “proof” all over it.

Image

Then on July 12th, we went over to Naperville, IL. There’s this cute little bookshop called, Anderson’s Bookshop, over there that we really wanted to go to. After we went to the bookshop, we went to a couple little boutiques that were right down the road from it, along with the Barnes and Nobles where I picked up a couple more postcards. Then we walked back to Haley’s car and went to Five Guys for some lunch. I hadn’t ever eaten there before, but it was really good. And then we searched for the Office Depot over there and just when we were about to give up, we finally found it! We wanted to check out the One Direction line they were selling. I wish I got one of the notebooks, instead of the pens, ’cause they don’t write that well.

ImageImage

Then on July 13th, we decided to do a little shopping in the town Haley lives in. First we went to the grocery store she works at (in the bakery), and I got a yummy chocolate chip muffin. Then we ended up going to Walmart where I got this really cute double-sided notebook and a One Direction cup. After that we headed to Rue 21, where I ended up getting a cute black hi-lo skirt that was on sale. And then we went to Walgreens, where I got myself a bottle of Sinful Colors nail polish in “Island Coral”, before we headed back to her house to chill out for the rest of the day. We watched the One Direction “Up All Night” tour dvd.

Image

Image

Image

ImageThen finally on the 14th, we went to Tinley Park, IL for the One Direction concert. We met up with Sarah in a parking lot before the concert, since it was our first time meeting each other. We hung out for a bit before heading over to the concert and hanging out in line. Our seats weren’t next to each other, since Sarah and her friends had lawn, so we didn’t get to see her after the concert. 5 Seconds of Summer and One Direction were amazing.

Image

Me and Sarah. I don’t know why I stood the way I did, ’cause it makes me look pregnant and I’m not.

ImageImage

Image

5 Seconds of Summer

Image

One Direction

There’s still a few pictures I don’t have from the trip, ’cause they’re still on Haley’s phone and camera, but oh well. I wanted to write up this blog before I forgot to!

Leave a Reply

